• Certification in Pain Medicine

    The Subspecialty of Pain Medicine is currently co-sponsored by the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA), the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR), and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN).  In the past, ABPMR has offered certification in Pain Medicine to diplomates of other ABMS Member Boards who fulfill the eligibility criteria and pass the subspecialty examination.  ABPMR has awarded certification in Pain Medicine to some ABEM diplomates.  This opportunity ended with the 2013 Pain Medicine certification application period.

    The three co-sponsoring boards of Pain Medicine have opened co-sponsorship of the subspecialty to other ABMS Member Boards.  ABEM submitted an application to the ABMS on August 23, 2013, to become a co-sponsor of Pain Medicine. This was done with the support of the current co-sponsoring boards.  The ABMS committee that reviews these applications is the Committee on Certification (COCERT). COCERT will review the ABEM application on March 13, 2014. The ABMS Reserved Powers Board will consider the application for final approval on April 24, 2014.

    Updated information will be posted here on the ABEM website.  If you have specific questions, please contact ABEM at 517.332.4800, extension 387.