• LLSA CME Requirement Overview

    Continuing Medical Education (CME) credit is another component of ABEM Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Lifelong Learning and Self Assessment (LLSA). ABEM, along with the other 23 American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Member Boards, requires CME as part of its MOC program.  This is intended to encourage and recognize physician continuous learning and professional development.

    ABEM-certified physicians are required to complete an average of 25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ per year. The CME requirement is being phased in and is based on when a physician’s certification expires. For certificates that expire in

    • 2012–2013: There is no ABEM CME requirement until after current certification is renewed
    • 2014–2018: The CME requirement begins in 2012 and is due in the year certification expires
    • 2019 and after:  CME requirements begin in 2012.  One set of requirements is due at the end of the fifth full year of certification; another is due the year certification expires

    Physicians can view their individual ABEM CME requirements by signing in to MOC Online, and viewing their “Requirements and Status” page.  To do this

    • Go to www.abem.org and sign in to the website with your User ID and Password (located in the upper-right corner of the page
    • After signing in, click on “ABEM MOC Online” to reach your ABEM MOC Personal Page
    • From there, click on the “View Your ABEM MOC Requirements and Status” button
    • Scroll down to view the “CME Requirements and Activities” requirement grid

    Types of Acceptable Credit

    Any of the following types of CME credit can be used to meet the ABEM MOC requirement: AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM, AAFP Prescribed Credit, ACOG cognates, and AOA Category IA credits. Credits earned from the LLSA CME Activity can be used to meet the CME requirement, as well as credits obtained from the AMA for passing the oral certification examination or the ConCertTM examination. The CME must be practice-relevant.

    An average of eight of the credits each year must be from self-assessment activities. Examples of self-assessment activities are:

    • Activities that have a testing component
    • Activities that are simulation-based, during which feedback is provided
    • An ABEM LLSA CME activity
    • Activities that use external assessment methods and standards
    • CME activities involving patient and peer review
    • Practice Improvement Modules (PIMs), Self-Assessment Modules (SAMs), and similarly designed CME activities

    Activities that are purely lecture-based or demonstration-based are not self-assessment.

    Reporting and Documentation

    Completion of the required CME activity is to be reported to ABEM in the year the requirement is due. No documentation is needed. All that is required is to attest to receiving the CME credits. Copies of CME certificates of completion are not required except for those randomly selected for independent verification.

    Details about the process for reporting will be posted on the ABEM website in 2014.

    FAQs on the ABEM MOC CME requirement can be viewed here.