• MOC Lifelong Learning and Self Assessment Overview

    The primary goal of LLSA is to promote continuous learning by diplomates.  ABEM facilitates this learning by identifying an annual set of LLSA readings to guide diplomates in self-study of recent EM literature.  Readings are intended to address issues of relevance to current clinical practice at the time they are posted.  ABEM recognizes that EM is an ever-evolving science and that new knowledge becomes available on a continual basis.

    LLSA readings are designed as study tools and should be read critically.  They are not intended to be all-inclusive and are not meant to define the standard of care for the clinical practice of EM.  ABEM does not endorse a specific research finding or treatment modality by virtue of its being the subject of a selected LLSA reading.

    • A list of 10 to 15 readings based on the EM Model will be posted on the ABEM website each year.  (Prior to 2010, reading lists consist of 16 to 20 readings.)
    • LLSA tests consisting of 20 to 30 questions will be developed based on the annual readings.  (Prior to 2009, LLSA tests consist of 32 to 40 questions.)
    • A new LLSA test will be posted on the ABEM website in June of each odd-numbered year.
    • Each LLSA test will remain online for four years.

    Availability of LLSA Reading Lists and Tests

    • Each LLSA reading list will be posted approximately one year in advance of its associated LLSA test.
    • A new LLSA test will be posted on the ABEM website in April of each year.
    • Each LLSA test and its reading list will remain online for three years

    LLSA Test Content

    Beginning with the 2014 LLSA Test, readings will no longer be organized by designated and non-designated content areas, but rather will be solicited from all areas of the EM Model. Prior to 2014, each year of the nine-year LLSA cycle focuses on specific areas of the EM Model. The schedule for the lists that are currently active is shown below. For 2009 through 2013, approximately half of the readings relate to the designated content area. The other readings relate to the remaining content areas of the EM Model Listing of Conditions and Components.
     2010  Abdominal & Gastrointestinal Disorders
     Other Components of the Practice of EM
     2011  Head, Ear, Eye, Nose, Throat Disorders
     Endocrine, Metabolic, & Nutritional Disorders
     Renal & Urogenital Disorders
     2012  Systemic Infectious Disorders
     Obstetrics & Gynocology
     2013  Thoracic-Respiratory Disorders
     Immune System Disorders
     Musculosketal Disorders
     2014 forward  Any content area of the EM Model