Mary Nan S. Mallory, M.D., M.B.A., Elected ABEM President

Aug 06, 2020

Mary Nan S. Mallory, M.D., M.B.A., has been elected President of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM). Dr. Mallory has been a member of the Board of Directors since July 2012 and was elected to the Executive Committee in 2019. She has served ABEM in a number of capacities, including as Chief Examiner and Editor for the Oral Certification Examination and Co-editor of the In-training Examination.

Dr. Mallory also has served as Secretary-Treasurer and Chair of the Finance, Bylaws, and Continuing Certification committees.

Dr. Mallory received a medical degree from the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine at Marshall University and completed residency training in Emergency Medicine at the University of Louisville School of Medicine. She also earned an M.B.A. from University of Louisville College of Business.  Dr. Mallory is currently Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs and Professor of Emergency Medicine for the Department of Emergency Medicine at University of Louisville School of Medicine, and an attending physician at the University of Louisville Hospital. 

"I look forward to my role as ABEM President and continuing conversations diplomates and candidates, navigating certification examination transitions, and ensuring certification standards and value as we move through these challenging times together" said Dr. Mallory. 

Others elected to the Executive Committee are:

Jill M. Baren, M.D., M.S., M.B.A., Immediate-Past-President. Dr. Baren is provost and vice president of academic affairs at University of the Sciences in Philadelphia. She is Emeritus Professor of Emergency Medicine, Pediatrics, and Medical Ethics at the Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Baren practices clinically at Penn Medicine and The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D., President-Elect. Dr. Gausche-Hill is Medical Director of the Los Angeles County Emergency Medical Services Agency, Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, and clinical faculty member at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center Departments of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics.

Samuel M. Keim, M.D., M.S., Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. Keim is Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, and a professor in the Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health. He practices clinically at Banner University Medical Center in Tucson.

Ramon W. Johnson, M.D., M.B.A., Member-at-Large. Dr. Johnson is a full-time partner in Mission Viejo Emergency Medicine Associates at Mission Hospital Regional Medical Center in Mission Viejo, California, and Medical Director of the Doctor’s Ambulance Company, Laguna Hills, California.

Lewis S. Nelson, M.D., Senior-Member-at-Large. Dr. Nelson is Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, and Chief of the Division of Medical Toxicology at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School; and Chief of Service at the University Hospital of Newark.

 All ABEM Executive Committee members are clinically active emergency physicians.

  • About ABEM

Media Contact

For media and news-related inquires, contact the ABEM Communications Team via email, or 517-332-4800. 

Follow Us