Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D., Elected President of ABEM

Jul 29, 2021

Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D., has been elected President of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM). Dr. Gausche-Hill has been a member of the Board of Directors since July 2014. She has served ABEM in a number of capacities, including as oral examiner and item writer; editor for MyEMCert; ABEM appointee to the Pediatric Emergency Medicine Subboard, for which she served as chair from 1999 to 2001; chair to ABEM and American Board of Pediatrics Committee for Self-Assessment; member of the ABEM EMS Examination Task Force and EMS Examination Committee; and current ABEM liaison to the EMS Subboard.

Dr. Gausche-Hill received her medical degree from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), and she completed residency training in Emergency Medicine and a fellowship in Pediatric Emergency Medicine. at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center She is currently Medical Director of the Los Angeles County Emergency Medical Services Agency, Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, and clinical faculty at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, Departments of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics.

“I am excited to lead the American Board of Emergency Medicine as the organization continues to innovate in initial and continuing certification while ensuring the highest standards in Emergency Medicine” said Dr. Gausche-Hill.

Others elected to the Executive Committee are:

Mary Nan S. Mallory, M.D., M.B.A., Immediate-Past-President. Dr. Mallory is Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs and Professor of Emergency Medicine for the Department of Emergency Medicine at University of Louisville School of Medicine, and an attending physician at the University of Louisville Hospital.

Samuel M. Keim, M.D., M.S., President-Elect. Dr. Keim is Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, and a professor in the Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health. He practices clinically at Banner University Medical Center in Tucson.

Ramon W. Johnson, M.D., M.B.A., Secretary Treasurer. Dr. Johnson is a full-time partner in Mission Viejo Emergency Medicine Associates at Mission Hospital Regional Medical Center in Mission Viejo, California, and Medical Director of the Doctor’s Ambulance Company, Santa Ana, California.

Diane L. Gorgas, M.D., Member-at-Large. Dr. Gorgas is a Professor and Vice Chair of Academic Affairs in the Department of Emergency Medicine and Executive Director of the Office of Global Health at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

James D. Thomas, M.D., Member-at-Large. Dr. Thomas practices Emergency Medicine at St. Anne’s Hospital in Fall River, Massachusetts.

All ABEM physician directors are clinically active emergency physicians.


Pictured left to right: Mary Nan S. Mallory, M.D., M.B.A.; Samuel M. Keim, M.D., M.S.; Ramon W. Johnson, M.D., M.S.; Diane L. Gorgas, M.D.; and James D. Thomas, M.D.



  • Become Certified
  • Stay Certified
  • Program Directors
  • About ABEM

Media Contact

For media and news-related inquires, contact the ABEM Communications Team via email, or 517-332-4800. 

Follow Us