Robert L. Muelleman, M.D., Elected ABEM President

Jul 26, 2018
Robert L. Muelleman, M.D.

Robert L. Muelleman, M.D., has been elected President of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM). Dr. Muelleman has been a member of the Board of Directors since July 2011, and was elected to the Executive Committee in 2015. He has served ABEM in a number of capacities, including as an examiner for the Oral Certification Examination since 2005, an item writer for the ConCert™ Examination. He also has served as Chair of the Academic Affairs and Finance committees, as well as the Board Eligibility and Single Accreditation System task forces. He is also a member of the Executive, MOC, Research, Test Administration, and Test Development committees, and the KSA Task Force.

Dr. Muelleman received a medical degree from the University of Nebraska School of Medicine, and completed residency training and a research fellowship at the University of Missouri-Kansas City and Truman Medical Center in Kansas City, MO. He is currently Professor and Past-Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

At its July 2018 meeting, ABEM also elected the following directors to the 2018-2019 Executive Committee:

Terry Kowalenko, M.D., Immediate-Past President; Jill M. Baren, M.D., President-Elect; and O. John Ma, M.D., Secretary-Treasurer. Newly elected members of the Committee are Michael S. Beeson M.D., Member at Large; and Robert P. Wahl, M.D., Senior Member-at-Large. Dr. Beeson is Program Director of the Emergency Medicine Residency Program under ACGME application at Summa Health in Akron, Ohio; he was elected to the Board in 2013. Dr. Wahl is Associate Professor (Clinician-Educator) in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Wayne State University School of Medicine, and an attending physician at Detroit Receiving Hospital. He was elected to the Board in 2012.