Advanced Emergency Medicine Ultrasonography Focused Practice Designation Exam Application Period Now Open

Jun 02, 2021


Physicians can now request an application for the first Advanced EM Ultrasonography (AEMUS) Focused Practice Designation Examination.

ABEM offers a Focused Practice Designation (FPD) in AEMUS. The FPD is available only to ABEM-certified physicians.

The FPD recognizes expertise held by emergency physicians with sophisticated, comprehensive knowledge of advanced emergency ultrasonography. While residency-trained emergency physicians have acquired basic expertise applying ultrasound in the emergency department, those physicians who specialize in AEMUS will have acquired a greater breadth and depth of knowledge in advanced techniques, research, and quality improvement skills.

The AEMUS Focused Practice Designation Examination will be offered every two years, in even-numbered years. The first exam will be offered March 7-11, 2022.  The exam process includes:

  1. Requesting an application from ABEM
  2. Applying
  3. Registering for the exam
  4. Taking the AEMUS Focused Practice Designation Examination

The application period for the examination in Advanced EM Ultrasonography is open June 1, 2021 –  December 31, 2021. Physicians can review eligibility and request an application at

Fellowship programs for AEMUS are available and are accredited by the Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship Accreditation Council based on AEMUS program requirements.

Additional Resources
ABEM AEMUS Information 
AEMUS Eligibility Criteria
Accredited Programs


About ABEM

Founded in 1976, the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) is an independent nonprofit that develops and administers Emergency Medicine certification examinations to physicians who have met all ABEM credentialing requirements. Once certified, ABEM-certified physicians must complete continuing education and assessment activities.

The ABEM mission is to uphold the highest standards in the specialty of Emergency Medicine. Over 39,000 emergency physicians are currently certified. ABEM is one of 24 Member Boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties.

  • Become Certified