EMS Maintenance of Certification

The goal of the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) MOC Program is to meet the ABMS requirements for MOC in a manner that both meets EMS diplomates’ needs and is as nonintrusive as possible.

All EMS diplomates are enrolled in MOC upon achieving certification. To maintain certification beyond their current certificate’s expiration date, EMS diplomates must participate in each component of the EMS MOC Program.

All EMS diplomates must maintain certification in their primary medical specialty. However, all LLS and IMP activities completed for any ABEM-administered MOC Program, that is, Emergency Medicine, EMS, and Medical Toxicology, count toward activity requirements of all ABEM MOC programs. 


Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment (LLS)

LLSA Tests

Diplomates must pass four LLSA tests in years 1-5 of their certification, and four LLSA tests in years 6-10 of certification. Because EMS LLSA tests are posted every other year, EMS diplomates must complete other ABEM LLSAs to meet this requirement. For more information about EMS LLSA tests, click here.

CME Credit

Diplomates must complete an average of 25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ per year or acceptable equivalent. All CME earned must be related to the diplomate’s practice. For more information about the CME credit requirement, click here.

Improvement in Medical Practice (IMP)


Diplomates must complete one practice improvement (PI) activity in years 1-5 of their certification and one PI activity in years 6-10 of their certification. For more information about PI activities, click here.


On June 21, 2016, ABEM implemented a pilot that will no longer require ABEM diplomates to attest to completion of a C/P activity for the MOC Program. During the pilot, ABEM diplomates will see the status "You do not have a requirement," or in some cases, "Future requirement on hold" on their ABEM MOC Personal Page. For more information about CP activities, click here.

Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills (KJS)

Cognitive Expertise Examination

Diplomates must pass the EMS Cognitive Expertise Examination during years 6-10 of their certification. This examination is a comprehensive, secure, proctored examination that covers the breadth of EMS and is administered in odd-numbered years in the fall. Passing the exam will not renew certification early. For more information about the EMS Cognitive Expertise Examination, click here.

Professionalism and Professional Standing

Medical Licensure

Diplomates must continuously maintain medical licensure in compliance with the ABEM Policy on Medical Licensure.

For more information about MOC Professionalism and Professional Standing requirements, click here.

Every diplomate is considered to be meeting ABEM EMS MOC requirements until they reach their five-year requirement deadline and it is determined that they have failed to meet one or more ABEM EMS MOC requirements.

Diplomates designated as not meeting EMS MOC requirements can make up the missed requirements and regain status as meeting MOC requirements before the end of their ten-year certification.

Diplomates who do not meet all their MOC requirements by the time their certificate expires have an opportunity to regain certification. The Policy on Regaining Subspecialty Certification describes these opportunities in detail.