• Pain Medicine Overview

    The Subspecialty of Pain Medicine is currently co-sponsored by the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA), the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR), and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN).  In the past, ABPMR has offered certification in Pain Medicine to diplomates of other ABMS Member Boards who fulfill the eligibility criteria and pass the subspecialty examination.  ABPMR has awarded certification in Pain Medicine to some ABEM diplomates.  This opportunity ended with the 2013 Pain Medicine certification application period.

    The three co-sponsoring boards of Pain Medicine have opened co-sponsorship of the subspecialty to other ABMS Member Boards. ABEM submitted an application to the ABMS on August 23, 2013, to become a co-sponsor of Pain Medicine. This was done with the support of the current co-sponsoring boards.  The ABMS committee that reviews these applications, the Committee on Certification (COCERT), reviewed the ABEM application on March 13, 2014, and the ABMS Reserved Powers Board approved the application on April 24, 2014. Click here to read the press release.

    To view the eligibility requirements, click here.

    To obtain an application packet for certification in Pain Medicine, please call the ABEM office at 517.332.4800.