ABEM Leadership

The Board of Directors of the American Board of Emergency Medicine consists of experienced, clinically active, board certified emergency physicians, and a public member. Nominations to the board are accepted Emergency Medicine organizations and the Emergency Medicine community-at-large.

As a nonprofit organization, ABEM uses fees to conduct exams and carry out regular business operations. Board members volunteer substantial time and effort to support and lead ABEM certification processes.

The following is a current list of ABEM Board directors, officers, and executive staff.

Executive Committee

Ramon W. Johnson, M.D., M.B.A., President
Samuel M. Keim, M.D., M.S., Immediate-Past-President
Diane L. Gorgas, M.D., President-Elect
James D. Thomas, M.D., Secretary-Treasurer
Felix K. Ankel, M.D., Member-at-Large
John L. Kendall, M.D., Member-at-Large


Yvette Calderon, M.D., M.S.
Wallace A. Carter, M.D.
Hala Durrah, M.T.A.
Susan E. Farrell, M.D., Ed.M.
Kim M. Feldhaus, M.D.
Theodore J. Gaeta, D.O., M.P.H.
Lynne Holden, M.D.
Barry J. Knapp, M.D.
John P. Marshall, M.D., M.B.A.
Ernest E. Wang, M.D.
Suzanne R. White, M.D., M.B.A.

Executive Staff

Earl J. Reisdorff, M.D., Executive Director
Melissa A. Barton, M.D., Director of Medical Affairs
Chadd K. Kraus, D.O., M.P.H., Dr.PH., Director of Research
Kathleen C. Ruff, M.B.A., Chief Administrative Officer

Associate Executive Directors

Timothy J. Dalton, Evaluation and Research
Angela J. McGoff, Certification Services
Michele C. Miller, Systems and Technology
Michelle M. Mulhern, M.P.A., Organizational Services 
Nell A. Newton, Operations