2021 Recipients of ABEM 30-year Certificates

Feb 23, 2021

30-Year Certificate LogoEmergency Medicine was recognized as the 23rd medical specialty in 1979, and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) administered the first certification examinations in 1980. ABEM recognizes physicians who, as of December 31, 2020, have marked 30 years of being board certified in Emergency Medicine with a special certificate. Because board certification is a voluntary process, this landmark accomplishment reflects a dedication to the specialty of Emergency Medicine, a commitment to continuous professional development, and the long-standing provision of compassionate, quality care to all patients.

To maintain certification for 30 years, ABEM-certified physicians must participate in a program of continuous professional development and learning in the specialty. The ABEM continuing certification process consists of activities that assist certified physicians keep current with medical advances and provides opportunities for practice improvement. Physicians must also pass the ConCert Examination (a clinically focused, comprehensive examination) every ten years.

ABEM salutes these physicians for their dedication to the specialty, their recognition of the value of board certification, and their commitment to caring for acutely ill and injured patients. ABEM-certified physicians are among the finest health care providers in the United States. Each of them exemplifies the ABEM mission, “To ensure the highest standards in the specialty of Emergency Medicine.”

A list of the over 500 physicians who have reached this milestone is available here.

  • Stay Certified

Media Contact

For media and news-related inquires, contact the ABEM Communications Team via email, or 517-332-4800. 

Follow Us